Happy Thanksgiving!

25 Nov

I hope everyone had a great holiday. I have so much to be thankful for: my family, my friends, my wonderful boyfriend, my health, the roof over my head, the food on my table, and more.

My parents hosted Thanksgiving at their house this year and we had a blast!

I woke up at 8 to help my mom start prepping, but the only thing that needed to be done that early was for the turkey to go into the oven. I had planned to have a day off from the gym to have my morning free to help, and after waiting around for a couple of hours I realized I could have gone anyway, but it was nice to spend the morning with my parents instead.

Yesterday I was in charge of making green bean casserole. The night before I made key lime pie and pumpkin cake.

In my Chef Roommate costume.

People started arriving around 12:30 and we started to eat around 1:00. We definitely had more than enough food and it was wonderful to share such a great meal with some of the people closest to me.

My dad carving up the turkey.

My mom's friend, Susan, plating the mashed potatoes.

Gravy, asparagus salad, stuffing, turkey.

Pineapple stuffing, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes.

Time to eat!

It was Susan’s daughter Laura’s birthday yesterday too. Apparently she was born on Thanksgiving and Susan talked about having Thanksgiving dinner at the hospital. We had a cheesecake to celebrate!

Happy birthday, Laura!

My mom and her friend, Vickie.

Susan's youngest daughter, Julia.

And of course, my lovely boyfriend, Michael.

After we ate our meal it was time for dessert! Only a few of us had room since there had been such a huge feast, but since Michael and I had two Thanksgivings to go to I’d eaten only enough to satisfy me. After dessert we had to head to his parents’ house for Thanksgiving round 2.

The beautiful key lime pie I made!

The first slice of pumpkin pie came out a little squished, so I made it mine. It was delicious!

At Michaels’ parents house we played table hockey and I lost twice even though he was missing his goalie. Fail. Then we looked through a box of pictures from when he was little and it was so fun to see him as a little blonde kid with an ever evolving bowl cut. We sat down to eat again around 4:30 and I had some green beans and potatoes which were delicious. Unfortunately I only managed to snap some pictures of the dessert.

My pumpkin cake with pumpkin spice maple frosting! The frosting was supposed to be a glaze but came out more like whipped cream this time. It was still yummy!

The pumpkin pies Michael's mom made. I had two pieces yesterday.

We spent a little more time visiting with Michael’s family before he drove me home. When we got back to my parents’ house we played a little bit of Kinect where Michael beat me in the group party game before he had to leave. My mom and I rounded out the evening by watching Bridesmaids, which I’d heard was hilarious but I thought was only moderately funny. Some parts were hilarious and the Irish cop was a hunk, so I’d probably give it a B-.

I hope everyone had a wonderful relaxing holiday and ate way too much!

xoxo
Felicia

  • What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish? Mine is a tie between mashed potatoes and stuffing!
  • Did you go Black Friday shopping? I had no interest in getting up at 5 or standing around at midnight with the masses. I went one time when I was 16 or 17 and it was fun to go once but I like to keep my shopping low-impact!
7 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. meg November 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    y’all had some amazing desserts yum!! i think my favorite thanksgiving dish is a toss up between the crescents and mashed potatoes…i’m a carb girl 🙂

    • Felicia November 26, 2011 at 4:43 am #

      I love carbs too! They’re definitely the best part of any meal, I think.

  2. Heather November 27, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    AWHMYGAWD. That food looks amazing. 😀

    I think my favorite dish would be my mom’s secret recipe mashed potatoes (the secret of which she just passed on to me this morning!) and the left over turkey, mashed potato, and roll sandwiches that I will eat for three days afterwards. 🙂

    Black Friday shopping I did do! Christmas presents galore and DVDs at Target for under $6. I found Bridesmaid for $10! I love that movie because it makes me cry because I feel like I AM the main character. Oy vey.

    • Heather November 27, 2011 at 1:50 am #

      And why would that make me love it? I don’t know….

      • Felicia November 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

        I understand that though. I love movies I can relate to. Plus she got a HUNKY IRISH COP so things turned out good in the end.

    • Felicia November 27, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      It was delicious!

      I love me some mashed potatoes too. You should pass me on your mom’s secret recipe. Does she put cream cheese in? My grandma used to put cream cheese in her mashed potatoes and they were AMAZING!

      • Heather November 28, 2011 at 3:11 am #

        She does! Plus one other secret which I will share with you via a private message! 🙂

Leave a Reply

