Phở-nominal Phở

27 Nov

Cheesy, no?

Last night after my intense high altitude workout with my trainer friend, Trish, I was feeling pretty hungry by the time I got back to Denver. Michael said he was hungry too and when he asked me what I was thinking for dinner I immediately said Phở.

If you’ve never had Phở (pronounced fu) and you like Asian food and/or soup then you must try it immediately. According to Wikipedia: Phở is a Vietnamese noodle soup, usually served with beef or chicken. The soup includes noodles made from rice and is often served with Vietnamese basil, mint leaves, lime, and bean sprouts that are added to the soup by the person who is dining.

Check out that sweet Papyrus.

Font choices aside, my favorite place in Denver to get Phở is Phở on 6th. They don’t have a website, which is unfortunate, but they have a good selection of soups, noodle dishes, rice dishes, and other small dim sum and appetizers.

On this particular visit Michael and I were really hungry and ordered two appetizers to go with our soups.

BBQ Pork Buns

I didn’t eat any of these because I don’t eat Pork, but Michael said they were filled with a sweet BBQ pork. I investigated them by giving them a poke and the dough seemed super fluffy and they were topped with a sweet (I assume honey based) glaze. They looked so delicious I wanted to try a nibble of just the bread, but I restrained myself.

Crab Cheese Wontons!

I try to avoid breaking out the magic pills but these little babies are totally worth it. The best thing about these wontons is that they’re super crispy and not greasy at all. I hate heavy, doughy, greasy food and these are so light and delicious. They’re filled with the standard cream cheese/crab filling but they’re definitely seasoned beyond that and have a little bit of green onion in them which pairs with cream cheese so well.

I get serious cravings for this mess.

For my main dish I ordered the Central Phở with tofu and veggies (hold the mushrooms). The difference between the Central Phở and their regular is the Central is considered spicy. I don’t think it’s particularly heat heavy but it’s definitely spiced, which I like better than the simple regular version. I have to add a bit of Sriracha to get it up to the level of heat I prefer and then it’s perfect! I like things hot, hot, hot!

Michael ordered the regular Phở with rare beef and meatballs but said it didn’t look nice enough for a picture.

The one about this restaurant that’s not so phenomenal is the service. The waiters are always nice but the communication seems really off. We spend a decent amount of time waiting for the check more often than not, and it seems like once they bring your food they just sort of forget about you. It’s hit or miss but luckily everything is delicious and the food is what keeps us coming back.

After dinner we went to Target so I could get face wash and a few other things and Whole Foods to get some joint health supplements and protein powder Trish suggested for me to help strengthen my knee.

We decided to pick up some dessert and opted for ice cream and sorbet.

Pumpkin spice ALL the things!

I am obsessed with everything pumpkin and Michael loves blackberries so it was a perfect match. I’d already taken a dairy pill so I figured it was worth it to have a lil ice cream.

xoxo
Felicia

  • Have you ever had Phở? What’s your favorite kind?
2 Responses to “Phở-nominal Phở”

  1. Sarah November 28, 2011 at 4:54 am #

    I drove past this place recently and B and I love Asian food. I feel like I have to become even more familiar with the foods that are okay for me to eat before I can go to a restaurant again.

    • Felicia November 28, 2011 at 4:57 am #

      I totally understand! One of my favorite things about Asian food is it’s really easy for me to find things I can eat that are lactose free (minus those stupid wontons) and full of veggies and rice. Once you’re feeling more food comfortable you should definitely try it when you are down here!

Leave a Reply

