Hockey time!

29 Nov

Yesterday morning I planned to get up early and head to the gym before a job interview, but when my alarm went off at 6:30 I decided to hit snooze and head to the gym afterwards.

I’ve decided to start over with my walk-to-run plan since starting the week of Thanksgiving was pretty disastrous so yesterday was my new day 1. I warmed up for 4 minutes before doing intervals of run 1 minute/walk 3 minutes and a cool down again of 4 minutes. I was really proud of myself for making it through the full 60 minutes this time!

I headed home to work on a freelance project before it was time to go to the Avs game.

It's all about the A!

I’ve been watching hockey with my dad since I was about 13 and really started to get into it more in high school and even more in college. I worked for my university’s newspaper as a photographer and I always jumped at the hockey assignments because it meant I got to get into the games for free and wander around pretty much wherever I wanted.

When Michael I started dating he started watching with me and got bit by the hockey bug. Now I think he knows more than I do and definitely has a more competitive spirit. We went to a couple of games last season and have been to three or four this season too. Our team is not doing stupendously, but I’m no fair weather fan. I’ve been following them for half my life so I’m not about to give up now. Compared to other teams in the NHL the Avalanche are a pretty young team (both in club years and current player ages) and some of our guys just need a bit of training. I know in a few years we’re going to have a really killer team again (the Avs have won 2 Stanley cups in their 16 years as a team).

Even though we didn’t win last night (typical) Michael and I still had a pretty good time. The first period was really intense and the last 5 minutes had us on the edge of our seats. Minnesota outplayed us for sure, but hopefully the guys can come back tomorrow night against New Jersey.

xoxo
Felicia

  • Are you a hockey fan? Or any other kind of sport? I pretty much only follow hockey but I enjoy going to the occasional baseball game.
3 Responses to “Hockey time!”

  1. Sarah November 30, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    I’ve not been to an Avs game since last spring. Glad you guys had fun! B used to play hockey so we’re both into it as well.

    • Felicia November 30, 2011 at 4:06 am #

      Michael is thinking about looking for an amateur hockey league to join!

  2. Heather December 1, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I got my C25K app from the iTunes store. I think it was either $3 or $5. I can’t quite remember. If you have an Android phone, they have an app for that too!

Leave a Reply

